San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Emanuele Arciuli

Sonata No. 2, ‘Concord, Massachusetts 1840–1860) by Charles Ives; Phrygian Gates by John Adams Italian pianist Emanuele Arciuli has in recent years earned an outstanding reputation as a champion of both Classicism and Twentieth-Century Music, particularly the Second Viennese School and American contemporary music. His collaborations with composers including John Adams, George Crumb, Joel Hoffman, Aaron J. Kernis, Michael Nyman and Frederic Rzewski, have won him their enthusiastic response. For Old First Concerts he presents two American masterpieces, Ives’ second piano sonata and John Adams Phrygian Gates, which Arciuli describes as “developing like a living organism; from elementary cells comes remarkable complexity”.This concert is co-presented with the Italian Cultural Institute of San Francisco

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.

Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.

Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.