San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

martha & monica

Robert Schumanns poetic cycle Papillons and Finnish composer Kaija Saariahos quixotic Sept Papillons, for solo piano and solo cello, complement two noble sonatas by Franz Schubert and Benjamin Britten. Intrigued by the unusually tender and expressive qualities of the arpeggione – a bowed guitar held between the knees, in vogue for no more than 10 years – Schubert composed the Sonata in A minor “Arpeggione” in 1824. The great Russian ‘cellist Mstislav Rostropovitch was the inspiration for Brittens Sonata in C (1961), in which the instruments take on operatic roles, from the hushed opening, through dramatic tragedy to exuberant heights.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.