Meráki Quartet – Friday, April 26 at 8 pm


Meráki Quartet – Friday, April 26 at 8 pm

The Meráki Quartet, whose name is derived from the Greek word meaning “soulfully artistic”, presents a program of works from the past and present, all inspired by folk music. This dynamic quartet features four 16-year-old students in their Old First Concerts debut.

*General Admission: $25
*Seniors (65 and over): $20
Full time Student w/ID: $5
Kids under 12: FREE
*$2 discount when purchased online!


Meráki Quartet

Sofia Matthews, Jun Yong Liu & Anna Renton, violin/viola; Isabelle Nichols, cello

Preben Antonsen Variations and Theme
Claude Debussy String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10
Béla Bartók String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7

The Meráki Quartet was formed in the fall of 2016, through the Crowden Music Center’s Youth Chamber Music Program. The group, comprised of four 16-year-old students, derived its name from the Greek “μεράκι,” meaning “soulfully artistic.” The quartet was awarded the Jane Galante Prize at the Yehudi Menuhin Chamber Music Seminar and has appeared on NPR’s From the Top with Christopher O’Riley. The group has performed at the Rex Salon and Herbst Theater with the Alexander String Quartet, opened for the St. Lawrence String Quartet, and were invited to play at Berkeley City Hall for Mayor Tom Bates. The quartet receives regular mentoring from cellists Bonnie Hampton and Eugene Sor. The Meráki quartet is dedicated to supporting emerging composers; for this concert they will present a program that links two works from the past with a contemporary piece by the Bay Area composer, Preben Antonsen. The three composers featured in this program were inspired by folk music: this interest is reflected through the styles, structures, and concepts used in each work.

Meráki Quartet perform Debussy's String Quartet in G minor