San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Slow Wave – Friday, April 24 at 8 pm


Slow Wave

Kyle Beard, clarinet; Justine Preston, viola; Naomi Stine, piano

Brett Austin Eastman Paraphrase
Max Bruch selections from Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Viola, and Piano
plus World Premieres by Bryan Lin, Emma Logan, and Kyle Hovatter

San Francisco-based Slow Wave is dedicated to exploring the slower end of the sound wave spectrum (through the use of lower instruments such as bass clarinet and viola), as well as bringing new attention to this often under-appreciated combination of instruments by performing and commissioning new compositions. Slow Wave is excited to present a program of both new and old repertoire, which will include world premieres of music by Bay Area composers Bryan Lin, Emma Logan, and Kyle Hovatter. Bay Area composer Brett Eastman’s Paraphrase, which was premiered by Slow Wave in 2019, will round out the program along with selections from Romantic composer Max Bruch’s Eight Pieces for Clarinet, Viola, and Piano.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.