San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Thomas Schultz

Hyo-shin Na Sea Wind Franz Schubert Deutsche TänzeFranz Schubert Wanderer FantasieFranz Schubert Sonata in B flat, D. 960 Thomas Schultz celebrates the breadth and depth of Schubert’s piano music, from the elegant miniatures of the German Dances to the virtuosity of the Wanderer Fantasie and the monumental scale of the B flat Sonata. Also on the program is Hyo-shin Na’s Sea Wind, her first work for piano solo in seven years. Praised by San Francisco Chronicle music critic Joshua Kosman for his “strong, fearless execution,” “depth of feeling,” and “fiery elegance and formal command”, Thomas Schultz has established an international reputation both as an interpreter of music from the classical tradition—particularly Bach, Beethoven, Schubert and Liszt—and as one of the leading exponents of the music of our time. He has worked closely with such eminent composers as John Cage, Morton Feldman, Christian Wolff, Frederic Rzewski, Earle Brown, Jonathan Harvey and Elliott Carter (in performances of the Double Concerto at the Colorado Music Festival and at Alice Tully Hall in New York). For more information, visit Thomas Schultz’s website.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.