San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

martha & monica

Claude Debussy Sonata (1915)Ludwig van Beethoven Sonata, Op. 102, No. 1 in C majorFranz Schubert Sonata “Arpeggione”Robert Schumann Fantasiestücke, Op. 73Since 2006 the ‘cello/piano duo martha & monica has consistently delighted Bay Area audiences with innovative programs and imaginative pairings of contemporary works and beloved masterpieces. This concert explores great sonatas for ‘cello and piano, from wistful Debussy (Sonata 1915) and quixotic late Beethoven (Op. 102/1 in C major), to glowing Schubert (Sonata “Arpeggione”) and fantastical Schumann (Fantasiestücke, op. 73).

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.