San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970
Sarah Cahill – The Future is Female – Friday, June 5 at 8 pm


Sarah Cahill – The Future is Female – Friday, June 5 at 8 pm

Rescheduled from May 15

Sarah Cahill performs works from her The Future is Female project, a communal feminist immersive listening experience featuring more than sixty compositions by women around the globe.

*General Admission: $25
*Seniors (65 and over): $20
Full time Student w/ID: $5
Kids under 12: FREE
*$2 discount when purchased online!

Categories: , ,

Rescheduled from May 15

The Future is Female

Sarah Cahill, piano

Germaine Tailleferre Partita (1957)
Margaret Bonds Troubled Water (1967)
Gabriela Ortiz Preludio y Estudio 3 (2011)
and more!

Sarah Cahill, recently called “a sterling pianist and an intrepid illuminator of the classical avant-garde” by The New York Times and “a brilliant and charismatic advocate for modern and contemporary composers” by Time Out New York, has commissioned and premiered over sixty compositions for solo piano. Composers who have dedicated works to Cahill include John Adams, Terry Riley, Frederic Rzewski, Pauline Oliveros, Julia Wolfe, Yoko Ono, Annea Lockwood, and Ingram Marshall. Keyboard Magazine writes, “Through her inspired interpretation of works across the 20th and 21st centuries, Cahill has been instrumental in bringing to life the music of many of our greatest living composers.” She was named a 2018 Champion of New Music, awarded by the American Composers Forum (ACF).

For this program, Sarah performs music from the mid-twentieth century onwards, including Germaine Tailleferre’s Partita (1957), Margaret Bonds’ Troubled Water (1967), Gabriela Ortiz’s Preludio y Estudio 3 (2011), and other works featured in Sarah’s project The Future is Female, a re-investigation and rethinking of the piano literature featuring more than sixty compositions by women around the globe, from the Baroque to the present day. More information about the project can be found at The Future is Female.