San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra

The San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra is the only orchestra in the world founded and directed by, as well as centered on the works of, living composers. The ensemble will present its 10th Anniversary Gala at Old First Concerts, featuring the San Francisco and world premieres of Mark Alburger’s Triple Concerto for Bassoon, Contrabassoon, and Harp (written the Garvey Family Musicians), John Beeman’s Collage (Carla Beeman), Michael Kimbell’s Concertino for Clarinet (with the composer as soloist), Sheli Nan’s “Saga” Overture, Samuel Ostroff’s Academy, William Severson’s The Mystic Trumpeter (Walt Whitman), Martha Stoddard’s Points of Reference, and Davide Verotta’s Solar Wind II. Also on the program will be two other birthday homages: Igor Stravinsky’s Greeting Prelude and the first movement of John Cage’s notorious 4’33”, celebrating the 130th and 100th birthdays of their respective composers.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.