San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra

Drs. Mark Alburger and Erling Wold founded the San Francisco Composers Chamber Orchestra in 2001 in order to democratize the symphony orchestra, making it available to composers of many styles and in many stages of development, from the established to the very young. The orchestra consists primarily of composer/performers, including Lisa Scola Prosek, Jonathan Russell, Alexis Alrich, Michael Cooke and David Graves. At each performance they premiere six to eight new works by Bay Area composers.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.