San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Sarah Hong & Makiko Ooka with Seyoung Lee & Caroline Lee – July 20, 2014

(above, left to right: Sarah Hong, Makiko Ooka, Seyoung Lee, Caroline Lee)J. S. Bach ‘Cello Suite No. 6 in D major, BWV 1012Max Bruch Kol Nidrei, Op. 47Samuel Barber SonataJohannes Brahms Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60Sarah Hong, hailed as “free, warm and very expressive” performer, returns to the concert series with long time duo partner, Japanese pianist, Makiko Ooka to share the most deeply spiritual pieces of ‘cello repertoire by J. S. Bach, Max Bruch, Samuel Barber, and Johannes Brahms. Often called the “Werther Quartet,” Brahms Piano Quartet No. 3 in C minor, Op. 60 contains all the dimensions of the composers sorrow, with a nobility of spirit expressed by the music.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.