San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Schubert’s Trout Quintet – June 22, 2014

Beethoven String Trio in G major, Op. 9, No. 1Dohnányi SerenadeSchubert Quintet for Piano and Strings in A major, D. 667, ‘The TroutWell known musicians from the San Francisco Symphony, San Jose State University and Stanford University perform timeless chamber works of Beethoven, Dohnányi, and Schubert, including Schuberts Quintet in A major for Piano and Strings, “Trout”. The quintet was composed in answer to a commission for a piece of chamber music based on his popular lied Die Forelle, and is known for its innovative harmonic language and unique sonority.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.