San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Sounds New

To Get to Fresno by Greg Steinke; Three Pieces by James Jenson; Bidder to Better by Michael Golden; Summer Solstice by John Thow; Sloppy Floppy Copy (World Premiere) by Herb Bielawa; Hibakuska by Aaron Alon; Dancing at the Pink House (World Premiere) by Howard Hersh; Canopy Dance by Michael DjupstromSounds New Ensemble is a colorful, enthusiastic and singularly versatile assemblage of technically superb musicians noted for their ability to interpret compositions with subtlety and understanding, both individually and collectively. Dedicated to the discovery and performance of contemporary classical works by American composers of all creative and aesthetic persuasions, the group has presented 13 premiere concerts since its inception in 1998. Sounds New programs are refreshingly diverse, and run the gamut from soloist to quintet.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.