San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Thomas Schultz – August 28, 2016

Thomas Schultz, piano
The Complete Music for Solo Piano by Schoenberg

Arnold Schoenberg Three Piano Pieces, Op. 11; Six Little Piano Pieces, Op. 19; Five Piano Pieces, Op. 23; Suite, Op. 25; Piano Pieces, Op. 33a/b
Johannes Brahms Three Intermezzi, Op. 117
Franz Liszt Nuages gris; Vergessene Romanze; and Les jeux d’eaux à le Villa d’Este

This concert is a rare opportunity to hear Schoenberg’s piano music in its entirety, along with late works by Liszt that foreshadow Schoenberg’s atonality and music by Brahms that Schoenberg often cited as antecedents for his own music. These five groups of pieces reflect the development of Schoenberg’s music from his early work in free atonality, through the development of the 12-tone system and on to his mature music.