San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Jason Cutmore

W. A. Mozart Piano Sonata in C major, K. 330Deodat de Séverac CerdañaIsaac Albéniz NavarraThe centerpiece of the concert, which also includes well-known works such as Mozarts popular Piano Sonata in C major K. 330, is Deodat de Séveracs rarely heard masterpiece piano suite, Cerdaña. Paired with Navarra, a grandiose and virtuosic work by Séveracs teacher, Isaac Albéniz (completed after Albénizs death by Séverac), the first half of the program is a picturesque and folkloric journey through the south of France and northern Spain. In Cerdaña we meet mule drivers, minstrels, harvesters, riflemen, pilgrims and penitents, and experience a fiesta, a Catalan folk dance, and shepherds playing pipes in their fields. Claude Debussy said that Séverac “composes great music that feels good and which one breathes with a full heart.” Today, his unique and evocative music awaits a 21st century re-discovery.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.