San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

martha & monica – March 24, 2013

An afternoon of music for ‘cello and piano, featuring classics and soon-to-be classics! Works to be performed include a world-premiere commission by Oakland-based composer Matt Ingalls, alongside the late Elliott Carter’s Sonata (1948), one of the seminal twentieth-century works for ‘cello and piano, and Shostakovich’s intense and brooding Sonata for Cello and Piano, Op. 40. Ingalls leads a quadruple-career in the San Francisco Bay Area as a composer, clarinetist, concert producer, and computer music programmer; the new work for martha & monica reflects his interest in importing compositional processes and formal structures based on computer music algorithms and techniques, and using dynamic instrumental sounds and textures resembling electronic music coupled with noises found in urban environments, replicating them on acoustic instruments.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.