San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Steven Bailey – March 3, 2017

Steven Bailey, piano

Domenico Scarlatti Sonata in D major, K. 118; Sonata in B minor, K. 87; Sonata in A major, K. 39
Richard Wagner Overture to Tannhäuser (Paris version)
Sergei Rachmaninoff selections from Preludes, Op. 23
Johann Strauss, Jr., arr. Adolf Schulz-Evler Concert Arabesques on the Blue Danube Waltzes

Steven Bailey is proud to present his first ever solo piano performance at Old First Concerts. Featuring sonatas of Scarlatti and Preludes of Rachmaninoff, the program also includes Adolf Schulz-Evler’s famed Strauss Blue Danube Waltzes virtuoso paraphrase, plus a new hybrid arrangement of the overture to Wagner’s Tannhäuser—”co-written” by Franz Liszt, Moritz Moszkowski and Steven Bailey himself. This epic operatic transcription encompasses the revised overture Wagner presented at the 1861 Paris premiere, infused with the Tristan- and Ring-inspired harmonies of the Venusberg Scene.

Share this post