San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Tanya Vegvary Plescia, pianist and composer

Sonata, Op. 28 ‘Pastoral by Beethoven; Geary Street and Dark Carousel by Tanya Vegvary Plescia; sonatas by Scarlatti and other worksPianist and composer Tanya Vegvary Plescia performs widely throughout California and the western United States, with appearances schedules at the Phillips Collection and the National Gallery in Washington DC. Edward Ortiz of The Sacramento Bee has described her compositions as “music that makes you think and feel … full of color … and shes not shy about pushing musical boundaries, taking risks, and being provocative”. For her debut on Old First Concerts series, she presents the world premiere of her piece A Poor Wayfaring Man of Grief, along with her work Geary Street, Beethovens Pastoral sonata, Brahms Variations on an Original Theme and three sonatas by Scarlatti.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.