San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

The Circadian String Quartet – September 16, 2016

The Circadian String Quartet
The Sound and the Fury

Sarah Wood & David Ryther, violins; Omid Assadi, viola; David Wishnia, cello

Claude Debussy String Quartet
Igor Stravinsky The Rite of Spring, Part 1 (transcribed for String Quartet and Percussion by David Ryther)
Russian Theme and Variations (various composers)

The Circadian String Quartet presents The Sound and the Fury: The Rite of Spring Re-imagined, the first concert in a series of three programs developed to explore the revolutionary sound world from Stravinsky’s ballet The Rite of Spring and its links to the explosive events of the decades from which it sprung. This iconic 20th century masterpiece, which infamously caused a riot at its 1913 premiere, struck a powerful nerve in a Europe wracked by political and social tension. Since then, the music has provoked unending fascination with its mix of French harmonies & deep, primal Russian roots. This concert features the Circadian’s own version of The Rite for String Quartet and Percussion, which will be heard alongside Debussy’s ground-breaking 1893 quartet and a collection of variations based on Russian folk themes. It is a San Francisco musical event not to be missed!

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.