San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Afiara String Quartet

Quartettsatz by Schubert; String Quartet Op. 130 and Grosse Fuge by Beethoven; Visions by Jason BushThe Afiara String Quartet takes its name from the Spanish fiar, meaning “to trust”. It has been said that chamber music is a conversation between friends. Within the support of friendship, the Afiaras found that trusting each other, in rehearsal and on stage, was vital to the depth and joy of their music-making. Winner of the 2008 Concert Artists Guild International Competition in New York and awarded 2nd Prize at the prestigious Munich ARD International Music Competition, the San Francisco Classical Voice calls the Afiara Quartet “a terrifically unified, versatile, and moving ensemble” with “startling intensity” and a “powerful, keen-edged collective sound”.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.