San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Craig Reiss and the Eos Ensemble – May 18, 2013

Beethoven Septet in E-flatStravinsky LHistoire du soldatJose Gonzalez Granero new commissioned workThe Eos Ensemble, founded by San Francisco Opera violinist Craig Reiss, has been delighting audiences throughout Northern California with their innovative concerts of wide ranging musical styles and instrumental combinations. This concert celebrates the group’s 10 year anniversary with a program highlighting the virtuosic principal wind and brass players of the San Francisco Opera and includes Stravinsky’s masterpiece The Soldiers Tale, narrated by tenor Matthew ONeill and danced by San Francisco Ballets Kimberly Braylock to original choreography by Muriel Maffre. Beethoven’s Septet in E-flat, and a newly commissioned work by Jose Gonzalez Granero, composer and Principal Clarinet of the San Francisco Opera, round out this exciting evening. The Eos Ensemble was recently featured on the nationally syndicated radio program West Coast Live and San Francisco Classical Voice said, “They played with a rich tone and a graceful sense of phrasing…”

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.