San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Ives Quartet – February 23, 2014

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart String Quartet in E-flat major, K. 428Henry Cowell String Quartet No. 3, MosaicFelix Mendelssohn String Quartet in F minor, Op. 80 The searching Mozart, the experimenting Cowell and the grieving Mendelssohn make up the winter program. In emulation of Haydn, Mozart seeks a more complex quartet style while Cowells Mosaic is just that—a free-form composition whose movements can be played in any order. Mendelssohns last major work before his death, the F minor quartet, is subtitled “Requiem for Fanny” in memory of his beloved sister.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.