San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Lynn Schugren – Sunday, September 9 at 4 pm

Lynn Schugren, piano
Made in America

Miriam Gideon Of Shadows Numberless
Mark Vance Points in Time San Francisco Premiere
Bruce Nalezny Poeme and Finale
Samuel Barber Sonata 

Pianist Lynn Schugren will explore the eclectic American style with four major works. Of Shadows Numberless (1987) is a series of short movements, each inspired by fragments of lines from Keats’ Ode to a Nightingale. A sophisticated and technically demanding work, it is full of luscious and impressionistic sound. Nevada County’s Mark Vance’s Points in Time, commissioned by Ms. Schugren and premiered in 2017 is a series of pieces evocative of events in the composer’s life, from views of glorious tulip fields in the Skagit Valley to the shock of the 9/11 attacks. Bay Area composer Bruce Nalezny’s Poeme (1988) was originally inspired by a dark poem by Spanish poet Jorge Manrique about death: a dramatic and powerful statement, followed by the virtuosic chase of his Finale. Samuel Barber’s Sonata, commissioned by the League of Composers in 1950 and premiered by Vladimir Horowitz, is a masterpiece of contemporary music. In this grand romantic sonata, full of emotion and longing, Barber uses the full orchestral range of the piano and presents many a technical challenge to the performer.