San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Sarah Cahill – The Future is Female – Friday, June 5 at 8 pm


The live stream of this concert will benefit two worthy San Francisco organizations, Compass Family Services and Old First Concerts.

Compass Family Services has been a service innovator for more than 100 years, leading the way in helping San Francisco families facing homelessness secure stable housing, attain economic self-sufficiency and family well-being. More than 6,000 parents and children receive services including shelter, housing, childcare, mental healthcare, and education & employment assistance and 88% of families who complete Compass housing programs will achieve lasting success.

Both Compass Family Services and Old First Concerts have been severely impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic and public safety shutdowns, and urgently need your support. Your generous contribution for this performance will help San Francisco families attain stable housing & economic self-sufficiency and help Old First Concerts to continue providing high-quality musical experiences to the San Francisco community!

The Future is Female

Sarah Cahill, piano

Germaine Tailleferre Partita (1957)
Margaret Bonds Troubled Water (1967)
Gabriela Ortiz Preludio y Estudio 3 (2011)
Lois V Vierk Yeah Yeah Yeah (1990)
Sofia Gubaidulina Chaconne (1965)
Grażyna Bacewicz Scherzo (1934)
Betsy Jolas Tango Si? (1984)
Elena Kats-Chernin Peggy’s Rag (1996)
Elizabeth A. Baker Four Planes (2015)

Sarah Cahill, recently called “a sterling pianist and an intrepid illuminator of the classical avant-garde” by The New York Times and “a brilliant and charismatic advocate for modern and contemporary composers” by Time Out New York, has commissioned and premiered over sixty compositions for solo piano. Composers who have dedicated works to Cahill include John Adams, Terry Riley, Frederic Rzewski, Pauline Oliveros, Julia Wolfe, Yoko Ono, Annea Lockwood, and Ingram Marshall. Keyboard Magazine writes, “Through her inspired interpretation of works across the 20th and 21st centuries, Cahill has been instrumental in bringing to life the music of many of our greatest living composers.” She was named a 2018 Champion of New Music, awarded by the American Composers Forum (ACF).

For this program, Sarah performs music from the mid-twentieth century onwards, including Germaine Tailleferre’s Partita (1957), Margaret Bonds’ Troubled Water (1967), Gabriela Ortiz’s Preludio y Estudio 3 (2011), and other works featured in Sarah’s project The Future is Female, a re-investigation and rethinking of the piano literature featuring more than sixty compositions by women around the globe, from the Baroque to the present day. More information about the project can be found at The Future is Female.