San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

Symphony Parnassus

Arshak Andriasov BalletSergei Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minorAntonín Dvorák Symphony No. 9 in E minor, ‘From the New WorldFounded in 1989, Symphony Parnassus encompasses the talents of musicians from the Bay Area community. The publics enthusiastic response has been more than encouraging, as the orchestra has gone from small rehearsal halls to major concert venues under the leadership of Music Director Stephen Paulson. Symphony Parnassus will perform one of Antonín Dvoráks most popular compositions, Symphony No. 9 in E minor, ‘From the New World. Dvorák, who experienced severe melancholy while in the US, used his New World Symphony to express his homesickness; the unusual last chord of the piece evokes the image of a ship leaving New York harbor, beginning the voyage back to his beloved Bohemia. The Orchestra, under the music direction of Stephen Paulson, will also take the audience on a voyage of its own—a voyage of discovery—as they play a new work, Ballet, by Bay Area composer Arshak Andriasov. The group will end their classical journey with a performance of Rachmaninovs Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, a work of melodic richness and dramatic pacing. San Francisco pianist Keisuke Nakagoshi will be the soloist.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.