San Francisco's Home for Great Concerts since 1970

The City of Tomorrow – March 15, 2013

Virtuosic works by renowned composers re-imagining the wind quintet, including Magnus Lindberg, Luciano Berio, and a US Premiere by British composer Rob Keeley.The only wind quintet to win a gold medal at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition in ten years, The City of Tomorrow advocates for the quality and expansion of wind quintet repertoire and performance. Dedicated to highlighting new and forgotten masterworks, The City of Tomorrow gave the North American premiere of Franco Donatoni’s piece Blow in 2010, almost thirty years after it was written. The group continues to be the only ensemble in the western hemisphere to perform this remarkable piece. The City of Tomorrow’s name comes from a poem by former U.S. poet laureate Billy Collins, which evokes the idea of an optimistic vision of the far future. In much the same way, this quintet believes that wind chamber music can be the expressive ideal of the future.

Old First Concerts has volunteer opportunities available!

Our concerts rely on the generosity of volunteers to assist with simple tasks like:


distributing programs

box office

set-up and clean-up

Scheduling is flexible — you choose when to work! We especially need helping hands for our Friday and Saturday night performances.

An excellent opportunity for students, seniors, or anyone who possesses a love for music!

If you’d like to consider volunteering with Old First Concerts, please contact for more information.